Coins and Australia - 1 dollar 2008 - Centenary of Scouting - Articles on Australian coins

You are: Home » Australian coins » Articles » 1 dollar 2008 - Centenary of Scouting

1 dollar 2008 - Centenary of Scouting

By CAA    |   Tuesday, 9 April 2024

1 dollar 2008 - Centenary of Scouting

On February 22, 2008, Senator Nick Sherry, Minister for Superannuation and Corporate Law, joined with former Governor-General William Deane, National President of Scouts Australia and Mr John Ravenhall, Chief Commissioner of Scouts Australia launched a new 1-dollar coin to mark the centenary of scouting in Australia.

In a first for the Royal Australian Mint, a coin 400 times larger than a standard one dollar coin was used to unveil the 2008 commemorative circulating coin. The design was gradually revealed by 10 young people representing the various scouting groups from Joey Scouts to Rovers.

Before this release (over 42 years), 14 special designs have been produced to commemorate an organisation or an event on the one dollar coin.

Scouts Australia was founded 100 years ago. We all know just how big a part of our culture the Scouts have become since then, with over 60,000 scouts spread across the country. Launching this coin is a perfect way for everyone in Australia to remember the achievements and contributions of the scout movement founded by Lord Baden Powell over the past century. The Government is very happy to recognise this incredible contribution and has declared 2008 the Year of the Scout.

Today, this giant coin is symbolic of the equally giant contribution that Scouts have made to Australia. The actual commemorative coin will enter national circulation in April this year so that each and every one of us can also remember and celebrate an organisation that has helped shape the lives of millions of young people around the world.

- Nick Sherry

The Scouts commemorative one dollar coin entered into circulation along with the standard one dollar five kangaroo coin design. Both coins are the same shape, size and metal composition, with the only difference being the reverse design.

Scouts have a record of success in contributing to their communities, many becoming national and international leaders. Eleven of the 12 men who have walked on the moon, former US President Bill Clinton, Walt Disney and David Beckham were all active Scouts.

In Australia, the scouting movement has seen the involvement of world champion driver Sir Jack Brabham, TV personality Jamie Durie and adventurer and businessman Dick Smith.

In 1907, Robert Baden-Powell, a lieutenant general in the British Army held a Scouting encampment on Brownsea Island in England. Baden-Powell wrote Scouting for Boys (London, 1908), partly based on his earlier military books. Scouts Australia was formed in 1958 and incorporated in 1967. It operates personal development programs for children and young adults from 5 to 25 years of age with programs successively opened to girls after 1971.

In light of this anniversary the Royal Australian Mint have produced a number of collector coins to commemorate Scouts Australia. The collector coins in the Scouts Australia range include: a $10 Gold Proof Coin; a $5 Fine Silver Proof Coin; and a 50c Uncirculated Coin, which were released on February 4, 2008.

Related numismatic tools, articles and links

Share this page:

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our newsletter and stay updated.